Burglar Alarm Licensing

The Private Security Act (Chapter 1702, Texas Occupations Code) requires the licensure of any person or company that provides or offers to provide investigations or security-related services in the state. Providing or offering to provide a regulated service without a license, or knowingly employing or contracting with an unlicensed company to perform a regulated service, is a Class A misdemeanor (first offense). There are also criminal penalties imposed under the statutory provisions of the Act that make the operation of an unlicensed company punishable by a year in jail, a fine of up to $4,000.00, or both on conviction for the first offense. Subsequent convictions of operating as an unlicensed company could result in imprisonment for no less than 2 years and no more than 10 years, a fine of up to $10,000.00 or both if desired by the prosecutorial authority to whom the case is presented. 

Visit the TPSB web site for more information

Consumer Reports of Potential Violations: Visit this Link...


Fire Alarm Licensing

SFMO Licensing regulates the planning, selling, installing, certifying, and servicing of fire extinguisher, fire alarm and fire sprinkler devices and systems through the statewide registration and licensing of firms and individuals who provide these services. In addition, the SFMO conducts Licensing Investigations of fire alarm, extinguisher, and sprinkler systems. This section also inspects fireworks stands to ensure compliance with adopted safety standards.

For information on the requirements visit the Texas Department of insurance website.

Complaint Forms from the State Fire Marshal’s Office: Visit this Link...